2018 La Granger of the Year Award Nominees

Every year we recognize the work and achievements of La Grange members who have truly “taken it to the next level” both on and off the bike. The most coveted of these awards is La Granger of the Year; its prestige comes from the fact that unlike the others, the recipient of this award is nominated and selected exclusively by the members. This person best exemplified the qualities of hard work and leadership on behalf of the Club throughout the past year.

Members can submit a nomination until 10 pm Monday October 15th. Here is the list (in random order) of nominees:

Zach LaBry - Zach has done a tremendous job across all teams, assisting team captains as well as race organizers. He also made it possible for LG women from all categories to race.

Dan Funk - "slow the funk down", Dan is the man. From representing La Grange on race day to being an everyday diplomat to fellow cyclists I propose D Funk.

Steven Walter - Steven is at every race and always willing to stop what he's doing to help others. He's 100% committed to La Grange and 100% into bikes.  

Tina Grant – Tina is the force that drives the women's team. She has spent many hours in hospitals with teammates. Her dedication, positive attitude, and ability to connect with others has been a huge asset not only to the LG Women's Race Team and to La Grange, but to the broader LA cycling community and beyond.

Patrick Barrett - Patrick has done an incredible job this year creating a new and successful racing program with great perks, support and high attendance at races. On top of creating a huge Fort La Grange presence in the local crit scene, his BBQ skills are world famous AND he brought home the trophy for Best Tri Tip in the inaugural All Clubs BBQ.

Juli White - Juli is always on her bike and always behind the scenes connecting women riders. She keeps up with so many people socially on an individual level and makes everyone feel like they are important part of the community.

Liutaurus Rusaitis – Leo brings so much to every ride and never hesitated to pull out his camera to record the rides and make them special. His amazing smile and boundless enthusiasm elevate every ride he joins and his epic images have documented the LG lifestyle in 2018.

Ballots will be emailed to all current members on Tuesday October 16th, and the voting period will be open until Friday October 19th.